PDA

View Full Version : Issues with - Image Description and Facebook



vlaci
02-09-2013, 01:28 PM
Hello

URL: www.hrisskas.com
I have the following issues:

1. The image description is showing up neither in the Picture Bar nor in the space above the share buttons.

... I have set Show Image Title as Description and Show Picture Bar to "YES" and Picture Bar Title to Image Tittle (actually I have shared my options so you can see them :) )...

2. The "Send" button is not showing up next to Like.

3. When I Like or Comment on certain image it is showing neither in the Facebook news feed nor in my FB profile.

4. With my Share Buttons Configuration the buttons are not well aligned next to each other. Maybe it is a CSS issue ?

Thank you!

regards

woods
02-11-2013, 04:59 PM
Hi Vlaci,


1. The image description is showing up neither in the Picture Bar nor in the space above the share buttons.
I think this one is a bug that I've already fixed. Please update to v2.1 when I release that update next week and tell me if this persists.


2. The "Send" button is not showing up next to Like.
This was disabled because it doesn't play well with the lightbox. I may re-enable this in v2.1


3. When I Like or Comment on certain image it is showing neither in the Facebook news feed nor in my FB profile.
This may be due to a bug with Facebook APP ID's in v2.0, please update to v2.1 and enter your own APP ID, then tell me if this persists.


4. With my Share Buttons Configuration the buttons are not well aligned next to each other. Maybe it is a CSS issue ?
Currently this is only rigged to look pretty for a full share "deck" - unfortunately they don't all play very nicely so you may want to tweak the CSS to your liking!



Cheers


W

skylacking
04-09-2013, 02:31 PM
Hello, was this issue ever resolved?
The image description is showing up neither in the Picture Bar nor in the space above the share buttons.

I am having the same thing as well..

Was the only solution so far from this thread :http://forum.socialgalleryplugin.com/showthread.php/29-Problems-with-Show-Image-Title-as-Description?highlight=show+title

and adding the php code, to restore the title atribute?

mikemayhem3030
04-09-2013, 09:20 PM
Heya,

I think this fixes it? http://www.socialgalleryplugin.com/guide-using-encoded-html-in-social-gallery-sidebar/ (hopefully) :)

skylacking
04-09-2013, 09:30 PM
Heya,

I think this fixes it? http://www.socialgalleryplugin.com/guide-using-encoded-html-in-social-gallery-sidebar/ (hopefully) :)

Hi thx for the response. Is there a way to apply that fix to all images. Or would I need to do it individually?

mikemayhem3030
04-10-2013, 07:05 PM
I'm not sure.

The reason it's not showing is because your image title = 'title goes here' is missing on the images, if you check out my example here: http://epicplugins.com/social-gallery-viewer/

It has image titles, I'm not sure why yours wouldn't as they should be added as part of the upload. How were they uploaded? (mine were through WordPress Media Uploader), if NextGen or something else, are there any options to set the image title anywhere?

skylacking
05-09-2013, 09:26 PM
I'm not sure.

The reason it's not showing is because your image title = 'title goes here' is missing on the images, if you check out my example here: http://epicplugins.com/social-gallery-viewer/

It has image titles, I'm not sure why yours wouldn't as they should be added as part of the upload. How were they uploaded? (mine were through WordPress Media Uploader), if NextGen or something else, are there any options to set the image title anywhere?

Hello, I uploaded them via Next Gen Gallery. My issue is that, when viewing an image, with nextgen compatibility mode enabled, the titles do not show. Is there a way for me to fix that?

mikemayhem3030
05-09-2013, 10:47 PM
I'm not too sure on this one I'm afraid as it's not come up as an issue from others, it's just a laborious process updating images so they have titles as I understand it.

Baba Asheri
05-12-2013, 05:34 AM
I have the same problem and have been unable to get any support.

Example gallery: http://mccalled.com/photos/2013-photos/april-2013/

mikemayhem3030
05-12-2013, 10:36 PM
Hi

It should work if you've setup the description on your nextgen galleries, I'll add this as something to look into and fix (if it's broken) in the next update. I'll ask Woods to take a look here too as with NextGen it could be a number of things

I personally use the WordPress "in-post" display for galleries as I think it works much much better

http://epicplugins.com/social-gallery-viewer/

Baba Asheri
05-12-2013, 10:51 PM
I'm not familiar with the "in-post" display. Is that a plugin?

mikemayhem3030
05-14-2013, 11:06 PM
No it's new from WordPress 3.5.1 onwards, when you create a page or post, and click "add media" it gives you the option to create a gallery, I find this works best with social gallery (as long as you add link = "file" to the shortcode (click the "text" editor of the post to find this)... the link = "file" is a bug with WordPress where if you pick "media file" it doesn't link to media file

skylacking
06-14-2013, 02:30 PM
No it's new from WordPress 3.5.1 onwards, when you create a page or post, and click "add media" it gives you the option to create a gallery, I find this works best with social gallery (as long as you add link = "file" to the shortcode (click the "text" editor of the post to find this)... the link = "file" is a bug with WordPress where if you pick "media file" it doesn't link to media file

My issue is that I have lots of galleries, and require the pagination of next gen gallery. But, I've added titles and descriptions with next gen, it still does not show up.

mikemayhem3030
06-16-2013, 09:35 PM
What doesn't show up? the descriptions? I think the conclusion will be the same until we look into the next update (v3.0).

skylacking
07-11-2013, 01:03 PM
Right, the Image title does not show up. However, page title will still show up.

mikemayhem3030
07-11-2013, 02:12 PM
Hmmm that IS interesting that it would work on the Lite version, I'll mark it for investigation as soon as we can (we've had a lot going on due to the transfer of the plugin to epic plugins)