PDA

View Full Version : Possible Solution for "Facebook issue"

Deepabysm
02-26-2013, 11:05 PM
Hey,
recently, I had some issues regarding Facebook's OpenGraph and finally figured out what was wrong. Although, I was not able to solve the problem that if I like a picture, all images are apparantly liked by me. But I looked at the Facebook Object debugger and I may have found something which could be interesting.
Having my start page set as og:url, the object debugger displays the following:

Fetched URL: http://example.com/file/actualimagepath
Canonical URL: http://example.com/

I am not an OpenGraph expert but I can imagine that when I now like any image on my page I actually like the URL given in the og:url tag, which is of course http://example.com
Therefore liking another image is not possible, because I don't actually like the image but the whole page. This is also displayed on Facebook: I like an image and my Facebook news stream says something like "Deepabysm likes <place og:title attribute here> on <place og:url attribute here>.

Now I was wondering what could resolve this issue and I finally thought that some php in the <head> area, specifically at the og:url and the og:title tag could solve this. Creating some php that makes og:url and og:title variable may solve the whole problem I guess. I am not sure though.

Besides that I wanted to say that when I comment on a picture of mine, it does notget posted on facebook and I don't know why.

mikemayhem3030
02-27-2013, 12:05 AM
Hello Deepabysm

I'm Mike, developer over at Epic Plugins (http://epicplugins.com/) you're along the correct lines here when you click a like button it does usually look for the og:url meta.